Louis-Philippe Dulac, the watchmaker, remember him?

2 Aug

For friends and family who have followed my genealogy hunt across the Web (and from across the Atlantic ocean too), my first *big* research post on a member of my family was about Louis-Philippe Dulac, my grand-uncle, the watchmaker turned military in WW1. Don’t confuse him with his father though (they have the same name!). It’s been more than two years since I have researched him and, incredibly, a few months ago I had an email from his son who told me that all the information I had found on his father was true*, there was even a couple of events that were unknown to him. By corresponding, Louis-Philippe’s son sent me choice pictures about his father and his military background.

He was, in fact, part of the Black Watch or the 5th regiment of Highlanders at the grand age of… 15! His son later revealed to me that when he enlisted in WW1 in 1917, he lied about his age, like many did at the time.

Louis-Philippe Dulac, Canadian Blackwatch, 5th Highlander

Louis-Philippe Dulac, in full Highlander garb, probably around 1916-1917

He was also, to my surprise, sent to Europe, probably in 1918 at the Witley training facility (aka: Witley Camp) in Surrey, England where I think this picture was taken:

Louis-Philippe Dulac, Canadian Artillery, 79th Battery

Louis-Philippe Dulac, ca 1918, probably in Witley Camp, England

He was affiliated with the 79th Canadian Battery but I learned from his Canadian Pay Book that his unit was integrated in the 8th army on the field. I learned a while ago the 79th Battery was considered to be a depot, as such it was not supposed to have left Canada… but in fact it did!

Canadian Pay Book for Active Service for Louis-Philippe Dulac

Canadian Pay Book for Louis-Philippe Dulac

79th Canadian Battery badge

79th Canadian Battery badge

I’m still unsure whether Louis-Philippe *actively* participated in the course of the war when he got to Europe, even his son did not tell me much about that yet, but when I look at this particular picture and I see his faraway gaze, I have no doubt that my grand uncle saw the horrors of warfare in Europe.  I will know more when Library & Archives Canada have digitised his service file.

Louis-Philippe Dulac, returning from WW1, Montreal, Quebec

Louis-Philippe, ca 1919, probably when he returned from Europe

Luckily, Louis-Philippe did not stay put, he left to find work in Waltham, Massachusetts and Detroit, Michigan. He came back to Montreal around 1932 and found his smile again when he met his future wife Antonia Belanger. He worked as a jeweler and watchmaker, until 1965,  on Christophe-Colomb street.

Louis-Philippe Dulac and Antonia Belanger, circa 1935

Louis-Philippe and Antonia, circa 1935

He died on June 24th, 1970 in Montreal and was buried, with honours, in the Veteran cemetery in Pointe-Claire, Montreal. I never knew him as I was born a few years later but I am grateful that my passion for family history gave me the chance to discover his unique story and learn more about him through his children. I am proud to have this industrious, talented and courageous man as my grand-uncle.

*A nod of the head to my fellow online genealogist John Brugleria who follows similar lines when it comes to researching online.

3 Responses to “Louis-Philippe Dulac, the watchmaker, remember him?”

  1. Pierre Lagacé August 29, 2014 at 12:11 pm #

    Can you add an archives widget on your blog?

    • Marylene August 29, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

      I was thinking of doing that, thanks for reminding me!

    • Pierre Lagacé August 29, 2014 at 4:30 pm #

      It makes searching for older posts easier.

Leave a Reply

ResearchBuzz

News and resources covering social media, search engines, databases, archives, and other such information collections. Since 1998.

Archives @ PAMA

A blog about Peel's historical records by PAMA's archivists

concoctinghistory

Ancient recipes for the modern kitchen

Biblioteket tar saka #librarycase

- a concept, an attitude - and this blog

eatmedieval

Fusion Cuisine between Past and Present

learnalittleeveryday

There's always something new to learn

On Granny's Trail

...A resource for Western States genealogy and more

Genealogy Lady

Connecting history to the present generation

